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Over the past few days I have been working on a Plenty of Fish (POF) campaign for the SeniorPeopleMeet offer on PeerFly. The campaign I am running has a lot of potential and I plan to continue to work on it, but I decided to share everything anyway including my creatives, my bid strategy, and the results I have seen from the $50 I have spent on traffic. I encourage you to use this information to setup your own campaign. Whether you run SeniorPeopleMeet or not is up to you, but if you simply steal my campaign you will probably fail worse than I did. If you do steal it and make some modifications that turn it into a $500+/day profiting campaign, don’t forget your favorite affiliate manager.
Plenty of Creatives
With POF I have found that it’s very important to test a bunch of creatives, but it’s just as important not to overdue it. If you setup a campaign with a $3.00 daily budget and you are testing 100 different creatives then you are stretching your budget a little thin. I decided I wanted to see at least 2,500 views on an ad creative before I threw it out and kept a close eye on my traffic as it was coming in. After 2,500 views I hoped to see at least a 0.1% CTR. Plenty of Fish claims to have an average CTR of about 0.15%. I will explain why I wanted at least 0.1% or more when I discuss my bid strategy, but in order for a banner creative to be a “winner” it needed to have at least at 0.1% CTR after 2,500 impressions. If not, I deleted it.
With SeniorPeopleMeet I am obviously targeting an older demographic and from what I have read images of couples work well with an older demographic. So, I found a nice couple and threw together a bunch of 110×80 banner images of them using CrazyCTR. CrazyCTR is a awesome site that makes it really easy to add cool borders and effects to your images in order to help them stand out and increase your CTR. Here are some of the banner images I’ve generated and used on my campaign:
Some of these banner images combined with my ad copy had CTRs all day yesterday over 0.1%. The ones I didn’t think would work were actually the ones that did best. For example, the one in the bottom row and second from the left had a CTR of 0.102% after over 35,000 impressions.
Plenty of Bids
Bidding CPM is nothing new to me because I have been running campaigns on Facebook for ages using CPM bidding, but for a lot of you (especially my newer publishers setting up campaigns on 7Search) it’ll be very confusing at first. With a CPM bid, you are paying for every 1,000 impressions. So, if you bid $0.40 CPM you are paying $0.40 every 1,000 times your banner is shown on Plenty of Fish. How do you figure out what you should be bidding in order to get a enough traffic to get a high enough CTR to profit? To make it as simple as possible, I always use a 0.1% CTR to figure out where I need the numbers to be. I hope for a higher CTR than 0.1%, but if you aim for 0.1% and get higher that’s just a bonus. With a 0.1% CTR you will get 1 click every 1,000 impressions. So, if you’re bidding $0.40 CPM and have a 0.1% CTR your eCPC is $0.40. Easy enough right?
I usually start my campaign bidding low and then steadily increase my bid throughout the day. You should do this anyway because Plenty of Fish has more traffic at night and everyone else’s bids increase at night.
Plenty of Results
Here are the results of my campaign creatives mentioned above.
Overall, my CTR for the campaign so far is 0.072% after 171,512 impressions. The conversions are not 100% accurate because I did not place the tracking pixel until yesterday. Besides my targeting though, you have all the information for my campaign right there. POF has a ton of potential and with the information I provided above I am confident you can setup your own campaign and get it to profitability. I am going to continue to test my own campaigns so I know how I can help you make yours better and look forward to your questions. Let’s make some money! 🙂