case study

POF Case Study: Jewcier

jewcier case study

Plenty of Fish is a great traffic source that a lot of my publishers at PeerFly are really starting to take advantage of. In my article on traffic sources based on experience I explain that unless you’re completely new to affiliate marketing, I think you can probably handle setting up and running a campaign on POF. Running a campaign on POF is easy, but getting it profitable isn’t quite as easy. There are a lot of different targeting options you can test and there are a ton of great dating offers you can promote to those targets.

Earlier this month I setup a campaign using an old banner I created for an offer we recently added to PeerFly again called Jewcier. Well, I’ve decided to share everything about that campaign so you can use that information to setup your own successful campaign!

Jewcier Banner

jewcier banner POF Case Study: Jewcier

I have only been using one banner the entire time I have been running this campaign. I am sure just about every affiliate marketer you will ever meet will tell you that is a bad idea and I agree. However, this banner (shown to the right) has gotten a pretty good clickthrough rate the entire time I’ve been running the campaign so I decided to just keep using it. Below is a screenshot of my POF stats for my two campaigns Jewcier campaigns combined.

Screen Shot 2012 12 13 at 1.33.07 PM POF Case Study: Jewcier

The banner features a girl on the left with a cool border created using CrazyCTR. I included the site’s logo on the right, a small headline, and then a big headline at the bottom. The gradient background helps make the banner stand out from the standard 110×80 image/text ads. I’ve pre-qualified users not only with the banner, but also with my targeting.

Jewcier POF Targeting

Jewcier POF Targeting POF Case Study: JewcierThe targeting on POF is the secret sauce to setting up a successful campaign. Creating a good banner to get a high clickthrough rate is important, but with good targeting you will get an even better CTR and your conversion rate will be much better.

With my Jewcier campaign I targeted jewish users from the United States (the offer’s only Allowed Country), who had logged in less than 150 times, and were not using a mobile device (Android or iPhone).

Considering that Jewcier is a jewish dating site it only made sense to target jewish users. This decreases my exposure, but it makes sure that the impressions I am paying for are worthwhile.

Targeting New Users

With this campaign I decided to lessen my reach even further by only targeting users who had logged in 150 times or less. Now, these aren’t exactly “new” users if they have logged in 50-150 times, but they also aren’t the old users who have been on POF forever and seen every dating ad out there. I’m direct linking to the Jewcier offer and it’s likely I have some competition also promoting this offer. Well, by targeting users with a lower login count it’s more likely that they haven’t seen Jewcier yet when they click my ad. By including the logo in my banner I’m also kind of pre-qualifying that as well. Someone that has signed up for Jewcier or at least checked out the site is likely to remember the logo or name and if they see it in my banner they probably won’t click.

No Mobile Traffic Please

I am tracking the traffic from my campaign using Prosper202 and I noticed in the Spy view on Prosper202 that a lot of my clicks originally on my Jewcier campaign (about 50%) were coming from mobile devices. The landing page for Jewcier is not optimized for mobile devices so I went in and removed Android and iPhone devices from my targeting. If you’re running a POF campaign that is not mobile optimized I highly suggest doing this.

Jewcier Conversions

So, what most of you probably think is the most important factor, was this campaign profitable? Yes! Here is a screenshot of my Prosper202 stats today for the campaign:

Screen Shot 2012 12 13 at 9.59.48 PM POF Case Study: Jewcier

The cost on this isn’t accurate because when I setup my CPC cost on Prosper202 I take whatever my default CPM bid is and use that. Prosper202 is setup for a $0.79 CPC, but I actually paid around $0.31 CPC. My true profit right now is $21.54. The campaign is profiting and has been profiting since I started running it. I’m going to continue to run it at the rate it’s at until it’s no longer profitable. My main purpose of setting up the campaign was to create a case study for tightly targeted POF campaigns, not making a bunch of money.

I am not trying to downplay the amount of work that goes into building a success affiliate marketing campaign, but anyone should be able to get a dating offer profitable on POF. You’re not going to make a ton of money setting up a tightly targeted campaign like I have shown above, but it if you’re making money you can reinvest that money into a broader campaign without having to worry too much about spending your budget. Give it a try yourself and let’s make some money!

Facebook Sponsored Stories Case Study

sponsored stories featured

I have been doing quite a bit of advertising on Facebook lately. I am still waiting for them to release their offsite ads network, but for now I am seeing some success with advertising my fan pages using Sponsored Stories. In this article I am going to explain what Sponsored Stories are, how you can use them to advertise your own fan page, and how effective they are in building up engagement, which will help you make money from your fans!

Screen Shot 2012 08 08 at 10.16.43 AM Facebook Sponsored Stories Case StudyWhat is a Sponsored Story?

A Sponsored Story is ad placement you can purchase from Facebook which will give special advertising space for your fan page and help you get engagement from both your current fans and the friends of your fans. As you can see in the example on the right, I am getting shown a Sponsored Story from a fan page that apparently one of my friends likes. I am friends with a lot of affiliate marketers on Facebook, so it’s easy to see how this can be very targeted. Typically, you have similar interests as your friends so the response rate can be pretty good.

Setting up a Sponsored Story

Setting up a Sponsored Story is pretty much the same as setting up a regular paid Facebook ad. Go to the Create an Ad page, select the fan page you want to promote, and choose these settings:

Screen Shot 2012 08 08 at 10.33.12 AM 550x254 Facebook Sponsored Stories Case Study

You can then choose more specific targeting of the friends of your fans (gender, age, etc.) and create your ad. The one big difference you will see is that you cannot select whether you want to bid CPM or CPC and you cannot choose your bid price. This is because Facebook automatically bids CPM for you and you will pay an Optimized CPM. This is the major difference between setting up your own ad advertising your fan page and creating a Sponsored Story. So, is it better to setup a Sponsored Story or create your own ad? Let’s take a look at my numbers:

Ad Impressions Clicks CTR Actions Likes Spent
Regular Ad 1,031,386 1,437 0.139% 1,667 945 $98.34
Sponsored Story 345,729 4,347 1.257% 16,001 2,271 $165.84

I have spent a bit more with the Sponsored Story because I am very happy with the results so the numbers don’t match up perfect, but if we consider cost per click and cost per Like, this is how it looks:

Ad Cost Per Click Cost Per Like
Regular Ad $0.068 $0.104
Sponsored Story $0.038 $0.073

Pretty impressive numbers. My regular Facebook ad performed pretty well and I ran it for awhile (over a million impressions), but the Sponsored Story is easily doing much better. I’m getting new fans cheaper and when you consider the other actions users can make (view a photo, like a page post, etc) the engagement is much cheaper and effective. For example, here are some statistics specifically for the Sponsored Story from my traffic last week:

Sponsored Story stats 550x217 Facebook Sponsored Stories Case Study

I’m gradually increasing my spend on this campaign as well because I’m seeing a profit from engagement with my fans. Last month I made about $700 off these fans and this month I’m on pace to make over $1,500!

Make Money Off Your Fans

The important thing with monetizing your fan page is to be creative. You can’t simply spam your fans with affiliate links or they won’t be fans very long. I have had a lot of success with building a mailing list from my fans. AWeber has an awesome Facebook Page plugin that makes it really easy to setup a subscribe page using Facebook Connect. You can do this both within a tab of your fan page or by driving them away to Facebook to your own hosted page. I am doing both, but I’m seeing the best results by pushing people to my own site designed around the theme of the fan page. This also opens up new avenues to monetize because you are not limited by Facebook’s terms.

Screen Shot 2012 08 08 at 11.02.17 AM Facebook Sponsored Stories Case Study

I have seen a lot of mixed reviews on Sponsored Stories and I really think the success of your campaign will be determined by the content of your fan page and the effort you give in making it successful. I’m going to continue to scale the fan page used in this case study and within the next few months I should be making $2,500+ a month from it. It can be done, but like anything else, it takes time and patience. Let me know if you have any questions :)

Important!
You cannot promote our offers on PeerFly directly on your fan page. If you want to push traffic to our offers you will need to funnel your traffic away from your fan page. Directly linking PeerFly offers on Facebook is considered spam.

POF Case Study: SeniorPeopleMeet.com

pof case study featured

Over the past few days I have been working on a Plenty of Fish (POF) campaign for the SeniorPeopleMeet offer on PeerFly. The campaign I am running has a lot of potential and I plan to continue to work on it, but I decided to share everything anyway including my creatives, my bid strategy, and the results I have seen from the $50 I have spent on traffic. I encourage you to use this information to setup your own campaign. Whether you run SeniorPeopleMeet or not is up to you, but if you simply steal my campaign you will probably fail worse than I did. If you do steal it and make some modifications that turn it into a $500+/day profiting campaign, don’t forget your favorite affiliate manager.

Plenty of Creatives

With POF I have found that it’s very important to test a bunch of creatives, but it’s just as important not to overdue it. If you setup a campaign with a $3.00 daily budget and you are testing 100 different creatives then you are stretching your budget a little thin. I decided I wanted to see at least 2,500 views on an ad creative before I threw it out and kept a close eye on my traffic as it was coming in. After 2,500 views I hoped to see at least a 0.1% CTR. Plenty of Fish claims to have an average CTR of about 0.15%. I will explain why I wanted at least 0.1% or more when I discuss my bid strategy, but in order for a banner creative to be a “winner” it needed to have at least at 0.1% CTR after 2,500 impressions. If not, I deleted it.

With SeniorPeopleMeet I am obviously targeting an older demographic and from what I have read images of couples work well with an older demographic. So, I found a nice couple and threw together a bunch of 110×80 banner images of them using CrazyCTR. CrazyCTR is a awesome site that makes it really easy to add cool borders and effects to your images in order to help them stand out and increase your CTR. Here are some of the banner images I’ve generated and used on my campaign:

creatives POF Case Study: SeniorPeopleMeet.com

Some of these banner images combined with my ad copy had CTRs all day yesterday over 0.1%. The ones I didn’t think would work were actually the ones that did best. For example, the one in the bottom row and second from the left had a CTR of 0.102% after over 35,000 impressions.

Plenty of Bids

Bidding CPM is nothing new to me because I have been running campaigns on Facebook for ages using CPM bidding, but for a lot of you (especially my newer publishers setting up campaigns on 7Search) it’ll be very confusing at first. With a CPM bid, you are paying for every 1,000 impressions. So, if you bid $0.40 CPM you are paying $0.40 every 1,000 times your banner is shown on Plenty of Fish. How do you figure out what you should be bidding in order to get a enough traffic to get a high enough CTR to profit? To make it as simple as possible, I always use a 0.1% CTR to figure out where I need the numbers to be. I hope for a higher CTR than 0.1%, but if you aim for 0.1% and get higher that’s just a bonus. With a 0.1% CTR you will get 1 click every 1,000 impressions. So, if you’re bidding $0.40 CPM and have a 0.1% CTR your eCPC is $0.40. Easy enough right?

I usually start my campaign bidding low and then steadily increase my bid throughout the day. You should do this anyway because Plenty of Fish has more traffic at night and everyone else’s bids increase at night.

Plenty of Results

Here are the results of my campaign creatives mentioned above.

POF report 550x459 POF Case Study: SeniorPeopleMeet.com

Overall, my CTR for the campaign so far is 0.072% after 171,512 impressions. The conversions are not 100% accurate because I did not place the tracking pixel until yesterday. Besides my targeting though, you have all the information for my campaign right there. POF has a ton of potential and with the information I provided above I am confident you can setup your own campaign and get it to profitability. I am going to continue to test my own campaigns so I know how I can help you make yours better and look forward to your questions. Let’s make some money! :)